About the NSW Productivity Commission

NSW Productivity Commissioner Peter Achterstraat AM

Peter Achterstraat AM has been the NSW Productivity Commissioner since 2018. Mr Achterstraat was the NSW Auditor-General from 2006 to 2013 and prior to that, served in other roles, including as the Chief Commissioner of State Revenue and Deputy Commissioner of Taxation at the Australian Tax Office.

He was the President of the Australian Institute of Company Directors (NSW Division) from 2014 to 2020 and was the Chair of the Sydney Financial Forum from 2015 to 2022. He has also served as an adjunct professor at the University of Sydney’s Graduate School of Government and held the positions of infrastructure adviser for Advisian and the Administrator of the National Health Funding Pool.

Peter holds an Honours degree in economics as well as degrees in law and commerce from the Australian National University. He was awarded the Australian Finance Conference prize for Company Finance, and the PricewaterhouseCoopers prize for Accounting. In 2006, he was inducted into the Australian National University College of Business and Economics' Hall of Fame.

Peter is a Barrister of the Supreme Court of NSW and is a Fellow of the Institute of Chartered Accountants in Australia, CPA Australia, Fellow of Chartered Secretaries Australia, and the Institute of Public Administration Australia.